Heathy Food: Why I Quit Eating My Meals & Started Drinking Them Instead

Remember Soylent Green? It was a Sci- Fi movie about a dystopian society where the greenhouse effect and overpopulation led to mass unemployment and a food shortage (scary right?) The main source of food was Soylent Green. A manufactured complete food to meet all your nutrition needs. Sadly, instead of being rich in plankton it turned out to be made of people.

The idea of one food to complete all your nutritional requirements may sound like it’s straight out of Sci-Fi. But that’s what Huel is. Complete food. And not only is it people free- it’s vegan.

Healthy Food

Eating healthy sounds easy. But the reality goes more like this:

  1. You start off with the best intentions.
  2. Fill your trolly with a colourful array of fruits and leafy greens.
  3. Get over-confident because you’ve eaten two pieces of fruit for breakfast
  4. Then get overwhelmed by work.
  5. Grab a snickers to tide you over on your journey to the gym.
  6. Open the fridge to realise half your veg is wilted and you’re too tired to cook.
  7. End up eating your housemate’s emergency pizza (Sorry Dave). And consoling yourself with biscuits

Well, that’s what it was like for me. I was sick of wasting food, constantly hungry from the gym and always snacking on what I could grab (which was never a mixed salad from Wholefoods).

So when my brother suggested trying Huel for a month I thought: Why not?

Healthy Eating Huel

Day 1: Difficult Roads lead to Beautiful locations

Huel

Huel is a nutritional shake. Their mission is “To make nutritionally complete, convenient, affordable food, with minimal impacts on animals and the environment.” This was a massive motivator for me. I’ve always hated wasting food and had been looking to change my eating habits. Huel seemed perfect and the philosophy behind it mirrored my own feelings about food.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Banana Smoothie with Huel

I’d be lying if I said it was smooth sailing though. Here are some of the hurdles I had to over come:

  • It’s an acquired taste. Not unpleasant. Just takes some getting used to.
  • Drinking my meals made me yearn for solids. It was like being reverse weaned
  • I would be full from Huel but mentally hungry for other people’s meals
  • I kept getting the balance wrong and had to eat it with a spoon.
  • I tried to shake it up on the go, but did not have the upper body strength to do it properly.

But difficult roads do lead to beautiful locations. I started thinking about the positive changes I had been able to make to my life:

  • My shopping bill was halved- and I wasn’t starving myself
  • I wasn’t depleted after Boxing or the gym
  • I was getting my daily nutrients.
  • Even when I was in busy I had two healthy meals a day
  • I wasn’t snacking in-between meals because I was full
  • I was eating vegetarian at least 3 times a week, and vegan at least once
  • I wasn’t wasting as much food and could be proud of the fact I was contributing to a more sustainable way of life

It’s month two and I’m powering through my second bag. I’ve learned to adjust my blend so its a consistency I like. I add berries and fruit for variety. I even added some of the mocha flavouring and it was actually a really nice breakfast drink.

Heathy Eating, but you can still have a brownie

You can bake with it. I can’t do this. My Huel still comes out lumpy

I still eat what I want, but time and circumstance aren’t affecting my choices.

If you care about the environment, want a nutritionally balanced diet, or are trying to eat less meat try Huel. 

 

Get a discount and help a beige girl out.

Leave a Reply

